Society for Special Functions & their Applications


International Conference on Special Functions & Applications (ICSFA-2015)

(XIVth Annual Conference of Society for Special Functions and their Applications)


Symposium on Fractional Calculus & its Applications to Special Functions

September 10 - 12, 2015

Organized by
   Department of Mathematics, Amity University, Noida, India


The three days conference aims to bring together the researchers working in the area of SpecialFunctions and related areas for interaction and exchange of ideas. In addition, it will inspire young researchers to pursue research in this important branch of Mathematical sciences. The Academic program of the conference will consist of Plenary sessions, Invited Talks and Paper Presentations covering a wide range of topics including Special Functions, Hypergeometric function and its generalizations, Orthogonal polynomials, Lie theoretic approach to Special function, Ramanujan Mathematics, Fractional calculus, Combinatorics, Number theory, q-series and continued fractions, complex function theory, applications of special functions to Statistics, Physical sciences and Engineering.

During ICSFA-2015 R. P. Agarwal Memorial Lecture shall be delivered on the first day of the conference by Shigeru Kanemitsu, Graduate School of Advanced Technology, Kinki University, Japan . The previous previous lectures have been delivered by Prof. George Andrews (PSU, USA), Prof. H.L. Manocha (NYU, USA) and A. M. Mathai (McGill, Canada).

Invited Speakers

C. Adiga, Mysore

A.K. Agarwal, Chandigarh

P. Agarwal, Jaipur

S. Ahmad Ali, Lucknow

Abdon Atangana , South Africa

P. K. Banerji, Jodhpur

N. D. Barua, Tezpur

Kalyan Chakraborty, HRI, India

H. S. Dhami, Nainital

Mridula Gerg, Jaipur

Li Hailong, China

M. Azhar Husain, Ara

Subuhi Khan, Aligarh

S. L. Kalla, Jodhpur

S. Kanemitsu, Japan

H. L. Manocha, USA

A. M. Mathai, Canada

M. S. Mahade Naika, Banglore

M. A. Pathan, Aligarh

Chaudhry Wali Mohd., Delhi

S. D. Purohit, Kota

M. I. Qureshi, Delhi

Mohammad Mehdi Rashidi, China

A. Rababah, Jordan

A. Swaminathan, Roorkee

K. S. Nasir, KSA

R. K. Saxena, Jodhpur

Maged bin Sad, Yaman

D. D. Somshekhara, Mysore

K. Srinivasa Rao, Chennai

R. K. Yadav, Jodhpur

V. P. Saxena, Bhopal

A. K. Shukla, Surat

S. N. Singh, Jaunpur

S. P. Singh, Jaunpur

Nianlian Wang, China

Advisory Committee

A. K. Agarwal, Chandigarh

S. Ahmad Ali, Lucknow

G Athithan, New Delhi

Shigeru Kanemitsu, Japan


Subuhi Khan, Aligarh
A. M. Mathai, Canada

H. L. Manocha, USA

M. A. Pathan, Aligarh

N. K. Thakre, Pune

Michel Waldsmith, France

Call for Papers

The organizers of the conference invite papers for presentation. The full length paper along with abstracts not exceeding 150 words and with two 2010 AMS Subject Classification numbers should be sent directly by email at ssfaindia@gmail.com or by post to

Dr. S. Ahmad Ali
Department of Mathematics
Babu Banarasi Das University
Faizabad Road, Lucknow 226 028 (UP), India

Residence: 292, Chandralok, Aliganj, Lucknow 226024 (U.P.), India
Tel: +91 522 3911065 (Off), 2323905 (Res.), +91 9415583389 (Mobile), Email: ali.sahmad@yahoo.com

so  as to reach him on or before July 20, 2015.


Papers are also invited for the following Prizes:

A. K. Agarwal Prize for Best Publication of the Year carrying a certificate and a cash prize will be awarded to a mathematician (below 45 year of age) working at an Indian University/ Institute for his paper published/accepted in the preceding year of the Conference in the areas influenced by Ramanujan which includes special functions, number theory, q-series, mock theta functions etc. Applicants for this prize should send five copies of their papers to Prof. A. K.Agarwal, Center for Advance Study in Mathematics, Punjab University, Chandigarh- 160014 (aka@pu.ac.in) along with the copy of the acceptance letter if the paper has been accepted but not published) by 10 July, 2015.

Aruna Gupta Prize and M. I. Qureshi Prize for Best Paper Presentation, each carrying a certificate and a cash prize will be given to an Indian mathematician (below 35 years of age). Five copies of the paper to be considered for the prize along with the abstract may be sent to Dr. S. Ahmad Ali (Department of Mathematics, Babu Banarasi Das University, Faizabad Road, Lucknow 226 028 (UP), India Tel: +91 52 3911065 (Off), 2323905 , +91 9415583389 (Mobile) Email: ali.sahmad@yahoo.com) by 20 July, 2015.

At the top of each copy of the paper the name of the prize should be indicated. The papers to be presented for consideration for prize should be under single authorship. The stress will be given on both quality of research as well as performance during presentation.

Proceedings of the Conference

The Proceedings of the Conference will be published. The full length paper in triplicate along with a file formatted in AMS Latex and a pdf file may be submitted during the conference by 12 September, 2015.


Persons willing to participate should register themselves online using the link below before July 15, 2015. The following registration fee is applicable

Foreign Delegates

Accompanying Foreign Delegates

Indian Delegates

Accompanying person (indian)

Research scholars /students

Industry sponsored Delegates

UD$ 250
US$ 200

RS 1500

Rs 1000
Rs 1000

RS 2000

Annual Membership fee Rs 200/- to be paid by non-members of SSFA.

The Registration fee can be paid by Demand Draft drawn in favor of “Amity University-Uttar Pradesh” payable at Noida. The registration fee payment can also be made online with following details
Name: Amity University-Uttar Pradesh
Bank: Allahabad bank, Amity University Campus Branch, Sector 125, Noida, Gautambudha Nagar 201 301 (U. P.), India
A/c No.: 20519034454
IFSC Code: ALLA0212270
The Demand Draft for registration fee should be sent directly to the Convener. In case of online transfer please mention the UTR number in the registration form.
Click here to register online


The local hospitality of the all invited and registered delegates will be taken care by the organizers. The arrangements for the stay of the delegates will be made in the guest house/hostels of Amity University. Special accommodation in hotels can also be arranged on request. The accommodation will be confirmed to only those who will remit the registration fee before due date.

Finanacial Support

Financial support for travel (in India) may be provided to some of the participants subject to the availability of funds. However, we cannot commit this in advance. The participants are encouraged to arrange the funds for travel from their own institution/funding agencies. However, all the participants and the accompanying persons will be provided local hospitality.

About Amity University

Visit http://www.amity.edu


For further details contact:

Dr. Prakriti Rai

Convener, ICSFA-2015
Department of Mathematics
Amity University
Sector 125, Noida
District. Gautam Buddha Nagar 201 301
Uttar Pradesh, India
Email: prai@amity.edu

Tel.: +91 9650896267